HOMEIRB World Series Home

IRB 7s Dubai

IRB 7s South Africa

IRB 7s New Zealand


IRB 7s Australia

IRB 7s Hong Kong

IRB England 7s

IRB 7s Scotland

IRB 7s Fixtures 2010-11

JP Morgan Premiership 7 Series

Middlesex 7s

Commonwealth Games 2010 Rugby 7s

XVs Match Reports












Editor's Mark

Rugby News

RWC Unplugged

RWC Warm Up Matches

Sevens Unplugged

Six Nations Unplugged

Tri Nations Unplugged

Forces Unplugged

ournaments Unplugged



Sevens Unplugged

National 7s

Rugby Rocks West Country 7s Manchester 7sNewquay Surf 7s


National 7s Teams

SUMMER 2010 sees the launch of the much-anticipated National Sevens Series in the UK. 9 of the world's top invitational sevens teams will battle it out for Series honours across 4 of the UK's favourite sevens festival events.

In conjunction with the Ultimate Rugby Sevens [UR7s], Rugby Unplugged will be bringing you an overview of the National Sevens Series as we move through the summer, and will be directing you to for detailed analysis.

Ultimate Rugby Sevens has been working with the RFU and other stakeholders to create a pioneering property in the new era of Olympic Rugby Sevens that brings direction to a structured Sevens season in the UK.

The Series launches in 2010 and the inaugural season is taking place over a 6 week period in June and July.

The purpose of the Series is to:

The 2010 National Series will take place at the following Sevens festivals:

Rugby Rocks
Rugby Rocks (London) 12th June
West Country 7s
West Country 7s, 18th-20th June
Manchester 7s
Manchester 7s, 3rd-4th July
Newquay Surf 7s
Newquay Surf 7s, 17th-18th July
Sky Sports

IF you can't make it to the rugby festivals, Sky Sports will be showing highlights; a 90-minute primetime highlights show from each of the four tournaments will be screened that make up the series during June and July.

The first of the four shows is being shown on at 19:30 BST on Tuesday 15th June 2010, so you can catch up with all the action as it happened from Rugby Rocks at Richmond. For the full TV listings on Sky Sports for the National 7s Series, click here:

National 7s TV Schedule



Rugby Rocks

12th June 2010
National 7s Teams


Samurai IInternational RFC

ALONGSIDE the 9 core teams, three invitational sides, the French Pyrenees, Esher RFC and the Irish Raiders took part in the inaugural National Sevens Series tournament in South West London.

National 7s Rugby Rocks TableDespite the previous form of the established core teams, the invitationals managed to make a significant impact.

Earlier, though Esher lost badly to the HFW Wailers in their opening game, they came back to win their next three matches against Olorun ID and the Akuma Smurfs in the quarter finals to set up a their next match against the formidable British Army. But Esher spoilt the party entirely for the Army who were 21 - 0 up at half time; an incredible second half turn-around hurled them out of the Cup at the semi final stage beating them 24 - 21.

The other finalists were the favourites, Samurai International, who progressively increased their winning margin in every match. Esher managed to give the Samurai a scare too; at half time the outsiders were leading 24 - 12, but as expected, the eventual winners pulled themselves together and scored 30 points in the final half to win the first National Sevens Tournament.


For a detailed analysis and round up of all the Group Stage matches, click here:UR7s National Series Rugby Rocks Group Stages

For a full report on the knock out stages through to the final, and the plate final won by Olorun ID, click here:UR7s National Series Rugby Rocks

National 7s Series Winners: Samurai

West Country 7s

19th June 2010
National 7s Teams


Samurai IInternational RFC



National 7s Series In Association with:

Ultimate Rugby Sevens